• September 4, 2023
  • rashtro@dmin
  • 0

Rashtrotthana Parishat Felicitates ISRO Chief, Dr. Somnath

Dr. S Somnath, the President of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), was honored by the Rashtrothtana Parishat in Bengaluru.

Dr. Somnath was invited to the Rashtrothtana Parishat’s head office in Chamarajpet, where he was presented with a shawl by Sri Dattatreya Hosabale, Sahakaryavah of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Rashtrotthana Parishat President Sri M P Kumar and General Secretary Sri N Dinesh Hegde were also present on the occasion.
The honour was bestowed on Somnath in recognition of his leadership of the Chandrayaan-3 mission, which is a major milestone in India’s space exploration. India is now one of only four countries to have successfully sent a spacecraft to the moon, joining China, the United States, and the Soviet Union.

Sri Dattatreya Hosabale praised Somnath for his hard work and dedication to the Chandrayaan-3 mission. The spacecraft sent by ISRO has already reached the moon’s orbit and is expected to land at the moon’s south pole by the end of August, a major step forward in India’s efforts to send a spacecraft to the moon.

Somnath responded by saying that the Chandrayaan-3 mission is a team effort and that he is grateful to all the scientists and engineers who have worked on it. He also stressed the importance of proper landing in the mission, which is scheduled to take place at the moon’s south pole by the end of August.

Somnath, who hails from Kerala, is the tenth scientist to head ISRO. He is known for his role in the construction of the GSLV launcher, which is a heavy-lift launch vehicle developed by ISRO. He holds a degree in Engineering and post-graduation from the Indian Institute of Science in aero science.

The event to honor Somnath was organized by the Rashtrothtana Parishat to celebrate his achievements in space exploration and to express its support for ISRO’s future missions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *